I Learned How To Code And Lost Some Hair In The Process

Let me start out by saying that coding is a very important. You can create the best content that the world has ever seen, but if it isn’t coded correctly, then it was all for naught. It is the unsung hero of digital marketing. Treat your coders with kindness and respect, because they pretty much control your business. They can completely mess up your website and turn it into an unusable platform. That being said, I am not really the best type of person to do coding.

Oh, I understand it, and can do it rather well (I’m so modest), but I do not have the right personality (?) to work on it. Maybe temperament is the better word. I’m the sort of person that gets frustrated when something is very simple to do, and gets annoyed with small mistakes. In coding, it seems as if most “mistakes” are tiny bits of coding, such as one character being off (maybe a quotation mark was forgotten). So, when I was working on a CodingAcademy lesson, and kept being told that the heading was not the right size, even though it clearly was the right size, my mind descended into a madness that can only be compared to a level just below “Gary Busey”

gary-busy

Pictured: Insanity

Well, it turns out that it was just an issue with the lesson itself. It turns out that pulling on my hair was not necessarily required in that instance. Needless to say, I was a bit frustrated that the lesson was broken, more or less. The main part of these lessons were very informative, and I did enjoy learning about coding, for the most part. The “hands-on” aspect of the lessons was really awesome. It provides a way to practice the coding as you work through the lessons, and shows in real-time what the changes to coding are doing to the website. Part of the lessons even went into creating a website (mine was a site to lure cat-people, and then convert them to dog-people). Actually working on coding gave me some respect for what computer science (CS) people do.

To me, coders are sort of like the unseen-CEO (just watch this explanation unfold it, it’ll be wonderful). By this, I mean that they are pretty much held responsible for anything that goes wrong with the website. They put in a lot of hours, like a lot of good CEOs do, and are paid quite well for their work. If I had the patience, the money, and the desire to, I would probably start over my school career and become a CS major. That’s not what I want to do though. The big takeaway from this post is that the coding of your website is just as important as the content that is on the website. Actually, since the coding contains all of the content, you could make the argument that it is MORE important than the content, but as a marketing major, I would say that they are equal (that definitely isn’t biased).

Now, I will take you on a brief overview of my experience last night as I went through some of the CodingAcademy lessons.

8:06 pm- After I signed up for the website, I took a quick screen shot so that I had a record as to when I began.

Capture

 

8:23 pm- I encounter my first challenging concept in the lessons. I quickly scanned the coding to spot the error, couldn’t find it within 10 seconds, and began to get a little annoyed with myself. After taking another 20 seconds, I spotted the error, fixed it, and continued.

8:55 pm- I get to the “Font-Color” lesson.

9:01 pm- I submit the “Font-Color” lesson, and am told it’s not correct, I proceed to re-do the coding

9:03 pm- Again, it was not correct

9:06 pm- I am in a state of denial, as I see that the coding I have done is, in fact correct, and the “incorrect” message is lying to me

9:10 pm- I realize I’ve been on this lesson for about 20 minutes. Time itself is mocking me. My head hits the desk,

Clock Dancing

 

Stop enjoying yourself with my displeasure, Time.

9:12 pm- I look at the forum for the question, and find that many other people are having the same issue. I follow their advice on my own coding.

9:13 pm- I successfully complete the “Font-Color” lesson

10:00 pm- I get to the CSS training

10:02 pm- I realize that I have no idea how to do the CSS training, but try to complete a few of them, nonetheless

10:05 pm- After getting past 1 CSS lesson, I call it quits.

code academy end 2

 

code academy end

 

10:23 pm- While walking back from the computer lab, I spotted one of the strangest things I’ve seen for quite a while.

 

Overall, I did enjoy myself while learning how to code. It is a really good skill to know, and if you plan on working with any aspect of the digital marketplace, it is probably a good idea to at least have a basic understanding of how it works.  It is a really good skill to have, and I envy any computer science major who gets a really good, high paying job out of college. They’re succeeding at life. Despite the couple faults that I found on CodingAcademy, it is a really good tool to help you learn the basics of different types of coding, different terminology, and how to actually code. I highly recommend it. Even though I had a few rough patches (mostly my own fault) I plan on finishing the CSS training, and the JavaScript training. It can’t hurt to know them!

You can sign up for CodingAcademy here: http://www.codecademy.com/

Have a great weekend!

01000111 01101111 00100000 01001000 01100001 01110111 01101011 01110011 00100001

Leave a Reply

